30 IPL Facts to Blow Your Mind

A league that was started in 2008 has become a festival in 2021. Cricket fans from all over the world wait desperately for the IPL season. Players off the field look to score with their cricket predictions. But there are some noteworthy bits about the IPL which you may not know. Here are 30 facts about the league that may leave you boggled.

Ipl Could Have Been a 50-over Game.

Sources say that Lalit Modi, who is considered the father of the IPL, wanted the game to be a 50-over affair. However, a consensus could not be achieved, and the tournament was molded into a T20 format.

Brendon Mccullum Made 158 in the First Match of the Ipl, but He Is Not the Highest Scorer in the History of the Ipl.

Christopher Henry Gayle, A.K.A. The Universe Boss has 175 runs to his name. He played this record-breaking knock against the Pune Warriors India in the 2013 season.

Praveen Kumar Bowled the First Over in the Ipl.

Praveen Kumar opened the bowling for RCB in the maiden IPL match against KKR.

Praveen Kumar Has Bowled the Most Number of Maiden Overs in the IPL, 14.

Praveen Kumar has had a good record in the IPL; he has been economical and tight with his lengths.

Captain Kohli Leads the Scoreboard Here Too.

Virat Kohli is the highest run-scorer of the IPL, followed by Shikhar Dhawan.

Chris Gayle Has Hit the Most Sixes, 357.

IPL has seen quite a few Gayle storms. Gayle has scored 4950 runs in the IPL with an average of 40.24.

Shikhar Dhawan Has a Record of the Most 4s in the IPL.

Dhawan rules the table of boundary hitters. He has hit 634 fours and averages 35.

David Warner Owns the Record of Most Fifties.

David Warner has hit 50 half-centuries in the IPL.

Chris Gayle Tops the Table of Most Centuries.

Gayle has 6 centuries in the IPL and has been the pick of every cricket prediction in fantasy leagues.

KL Rahul made the fastest IPL fifty in 14 balls.

The flashy KL Rahul took just 14 balls to score his 51 against Delhi.

Gayle was the quickest to reach an IPL century.

Chris Gayle scored a 30-ball century against the Pune Warriors in 2013. This till-date is the fastest century in the IPL.

Gayle has another record, most sixes in an inning.

Chris Gayle may even hold a record in making records; he hit 17 sixes against Pune in 2013.

Andre Russel owns the highest strike rate in the IPL.

With a strike rate of 182.33, Russel is a dangerous hitter in the IPL.

Virat and ABD have shared the highest scoring partnership in the IPL.

Scoring 229 runs together against the Gujarat Lions in 2016, AB De Villiers and Virat Kohli hold the record of the highest partnership.

Johnny Bairstow’s and David Warner’s 185 run opening partnership is the highest.

Both these players scored exceptionally well in the game against RCB in 2019.

Harbhajan Singh holds the record of the most ducks.

This is not the best record to hold, but Harbhajan went for 13 ducks in his IPL career.

RCB holds the record of the highest total, 265.

Gayle’s 175 took the total to 265 against Pune in 2013.

RCB also holds the record for the lowest total, 49.

What goes up shall come down, the law of nature caught up with RCB.

CSK defended the lowest total of 116.

CSK managed to restrict Punjab to 92/8 after scoring 116.

Amit Mishra, the master leggie, has the highest number of hat tricks.

Mishra has 3 hat-tricks to his tally.

Malinga has taken the most wickets in the history of the IPL.

With 170 wickets, the legendary Lasith Malinga tops the table.

Alzarri Joseph’s 6 for 12 is the best bowling figure till-date.

Alzarri Joseph took 6 wickets against Hyderabad in 2019.

Basil Thampi has gone for the most runs in an IPL spell.

Going for 70 in his 4 overs, Basil Thampi has this embarrassing record to his name.

Harbhajan Singh has bowled the most dot-balls.

With 1268 dot-balls, Bhajji tops the table here.

MS Dhoni has caused most dismissals as a wicketkeeper.

MSD’s mastery with the gloves brought about 153 dismissals in the IPL.

Shaun Marsh held the orange cap in the first season.

The Aussie batter was exceptional in the opening season.

Sohail Tanveer held the purple cap in the maiden season.

Pakistan’s Sohail Tanveer was exceptional with the ball.

Prayas Ray Barman is the youngest player to play in the IPL.

He became the youngest to play in the league; earlier, it was Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

MSD has played the most IPL matches, 219.

Captain Cool MSD is the most experienced here as well. His experience has helped CSK seal the title 4 times.

ABD has the most Man-of-the-Match awards, 23.

Mr. 360 loves batting in the IPL and enjoys a massive fan-following.